The Other 13: Molly Atkins

Molly Atkins

Source: Molly Atkins

I’m here with Molly Atkins, my fellow Writers of the Future writer-winner from St. Louis, Missouri. She very graciously volunteered to answer the following questions:

Tell me about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your background?

I grew up in a small University town in Texas. After getting married and living briefly in an even smaller town, I moved with my husband to St. Louis. A few years later, after our oldest daughter was born, we moved to California, but now we’re back in St. Louis with both of our girls. I began writing in 2014 after our return to St. Louis. I’d thought about writing since I was a little girl, but I just never sat down to do it. Then a friend told me about this NaNoWriMo thing, and once I started, I just never stopped. Continue reading

Advertisements
Posted in Blogging, Book Reviews, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Special Guests, Uncategorized, Writing | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Other 13: David VonAllmen

David VonAllmen

Source: David VonAllmen

I’m here with David VonAllmen, my fellow Writers of the Future writer-winner from St. Louis, Missouri. He very graciously volunteered to answer the following questions:

Tell me about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your background?

I’m from St. Louis. I lived in Colorado for a bunch of years for college and post-college screwing around, but St. Louis is home and I’m glad I came back. My background is nothing interesting – just grew up in the suburbs, studied marketing and graphic design and then realized I wasn’t going to make any money in that (largely because I wasn’t really that good at it) so I went into private equity, which is a good gig. Continue reading

Posted in Blogging, Book Reviews, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Special Guests, Uncategorized, Writing | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Other 13: Stephen Lawson

Stephen Lawson

Source: Stephen Lawson

I’m here with Stephen Lawson, my fellow Writers of the Future writer-winner from Louisville, Kentucky. He very graciously volunteered to answer the following questions:

Tell me about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your background?

I grew up as a Methodist preacher’s son in several small towns in Ohio. I joined the Navy at 18 and deployed three times on the U.S.S. Theodore Roosevelt, including on September 19, 2001 in the immediate response to 9/11. I got out of the military completely for four years and got a B.A. in Business Administration from Asbury University in Wilmore, KY.  I’ve had a few civilian jobs since then, but I also joined the Kentucky National Guard the year I graduated. Now I divide my time between Guard obligations, writing, and working on my MBA. Continue reading

Posted in Blogging, Book Reviews, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Other 13: Andrew Peery

Andrew Peery

Source: Andrew Peery

I’m here with Andrew Peery, my fellow Writers of the Future writer-winner from Durham, North Carolina. He very graciously volunteered to answer the following questions:

Tell me about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your background?

I live in Durham, North Carolina, with my wife and two boys. I’m a doctor, and I use those experiences in my writing. Having young kids (ages 3 and 5), my hobbies include stepping on legos and tracking down the small plastic parts of toys. On the plus side, I’m constantly surrounded by space ships and castles, which can be rather inspiring. Continue reading

Posted in Blogging, Book Reviews, Fantasy, Special Guests, Uncategorized, Writing | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Other 13: Ziporah Hildebrandt

Zhead

Source: Ziporah Hildebrandt

I’m here with Ziporah Hildebrandt, my fellow Writers of the Future writer-winner from Shutesbury, Massachusetts. She very graciously volunteered to answer the following questions:

Tell me about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your background?

I grew up outside Philadelphia, hated school, am still traumatized by my family experience, and thank God every day I was raised an atheist. I went to college in Amherst, MA, spent some time in various other places, and have lived in western Mass for quite a while. I mostly was educated in the experiential mode, learning by doing. I enjoyed most things that involved something artistic, creative, or imaginative. I was kind of like a bumper car on most traditional subjects, I’d bump into history, math, science and so forth and veer off, repelled not by the subjects but by the boring way they were presented. A shame really, I love learning about nature and the universe, and I read Quantum Physics for Dummies and it pretty much made sense to me, but oh my God the bulgy eyed guy in the windowless room on about the ideal gas law took all the joy out. Continue reading

Posted in Blogging, Book Reviews, Business, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Other 13: Walter Dinjos

Walter Dinjos

Source: Walter Dinjos

I’m here with Walter Dinjos, my fellow Writers of the Future writer-winner from Anambra State, Nigeria. He very graciously volunteered to answer the following questions:

Tell me about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your background?

I am from Nigeria and grew up loving music. It wasn’t until 2010, after reading The Golden Space by Pamela Sargent, that writing first crossed my mind. As naive as I was then, I imagined that through writing I could raise some money for the production of my songs. That plan, of course, failed when the rejection letters started flowing in.

But I didn’t quit. I even gradually pulled away from music, having found much love for writing fiction. In 2012, I enrolled in The Writers Bureau’s Comprehensive Creative Writing course, and in August 2014 I made my first sale to The Literary Hatchet. Continue reading

Posted in Blogging, Book Reviews, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Special Guests, Uncategorized, Writing | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Other 13: Anton Rose

Anton Rose Photo

Source: Anton Rose

I’m here with Anton Rose, my fellow Writers of the Future writer-winner from Durham, England. He very graciously volunteered to answer the following questions:

Tell me about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your background?

I’m from Durham, which is a small city in the north east of England. My background is in Theology, and I completed a PhD here in 2015. I’ve been writing on and off throughout my life, but I picked it up again more seriously back in 2013 and got hooked on writing short stories. Continue reading

Posted in Blogging, Book Reviews, Business, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Special Guests, Uncategorized, Writing | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Other 13: Ville Meriläinen

WOTF - WRITER PORTRAIT - VILLE MERILAINEN _3291

Source: Ville Meriläinen

I’m here with Ville Meriläinen, my fellow Writers of the Future writer-winner from Joensuu, Finland. He very graciously volunteered to answer the following questions from his cold country:

Tell me about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your background?

I am a university student from Joensuu, Finland, a smallish city about 100 km (~60 miles) from the Russian border. I’ve been learning English since kindergarten, and writing fiction in English since fifteen. Originally these were small humour pieces, but over time I began to expand and experiment with more complex plots, culminating in an attempt to write a novel. I started when I was 19 and finished a year and a half later. It will never see the light of the day, but I was proud of it then. I have since written three more, two of which are available on Amazon.com right now. Continue reading

Posted in Blogging, Book Reviews, Business, Fantasy, Russia, Science Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

The Other 13

CrimsonDawnCvr_LarryElmore-1024x682

Source: Larry Elmore

In early April, I spent nearly a week and a half in Hollywood with 12 other very talented writer-winners of the Writers of the Future Contest (the 13th writer-winner was unable to attend). Tomorrow, I plan to profile each and every one of them on this blog. As you get to know them, please consider picking up a copy of Writers of the Future: Volume  33 on Amazon or Barnes and Noble today. And if you’re so inclined, please post an honest review.

These authors will appear here at the following times tomorrow:

  • Ville Meriläinen (3 AM PT / 6 AM ET)
  • Anton Rose (4 AM PT / 7 AM ET)
  • Walter Dinjos (5 AM PT / 8 AM ET)
  • Ziporah Hildebrandt (6 AM PT / 9 AM ET)
  • Andrew Peery (7 AM PT / 10 AM ET)
  • Stephen Lawson (8 AM PT / 11 AM ET)
  • David VonAllmen (9 AM PT / 12 PM ET)
  • Molly Atkins (10 AM PT / 1 PM ET)
  • Dustin Steinacker (11 AM PT / 2 PM ET)
  • C.L. Kagmi (12 PM PT / 3 PM ET)
  • Andrew L. Roberts (1 PM PT / 4 PM ET)
  • Jake Marley (2 PM PT / 5 PM ET)
  • Doug Souza (3 PM PT / 6 PM ET)

I hope you enjoy meeting my new friends.

Posted in Blogging, Book Reviews, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

“Mukden” Featured in Weirdbook

Source: Weirdbook

The most recent issue of Weirdbook, which features my story, “Mukden” is now available on Amazon.

“Mukden” is a historical retelling of the prelude to its namesake military engagement. The Battle of Mukden, which took place in early 1905, was one of the largest land battles in history prior to World War I. It is also the second historical fantasy story I’ve ever written.

The tale is the sequel to “Hill of Souls”, which appeared in Outposts of Beyond in 2015. It continues to follow the arcane journey of Japanese soldier Captain Tanaka Hideki, a member of an occult organization known only to Japan’s senior leadership as Unit 108. His mission is to work with local Chinese bandits to determine the size, location, and disposition of Imperial Russian forces operating along the Manchurian rail line, but along the way, he discovers something far more sinister.

Continue reading

Posted in Blogging, Fantasy, Horror, Science Fiction, Writing | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments